UDF to return figures from MS SQL Server 2k5

May 24, 2011 at 3:32 PM

Hello

I am new to Excel-DNA and I think this is amazing. Thanks to the team who created Excel-DNA. I am just a newbie to excel development (I'm an accountant with IT background). I created the below function in VS2010 then compiled to dll and combined with execl-dna.xll.

This function works well but it seems to have performance issue when I use it in my worksheet which would include about 100 cells using this function concurrently. It took 15 minutes to finish the calculation. Could you please advise what can be improved with the below function.

Many thanks, Duan.

Public Shared Function GL_ACTUAL(ByVal AccMask As String, ByVal CCMask As String, ByVal FrmDte As Date, ByVal ToDte As Date) As Double
        Dim sConnect As String = ""
        Dim strSQL As String
        Dim Actual As Double = 0
        'Dim svrPar As String
        '
        On Error GoTo SQLERROR
        Dim tmpAccMask As String = Replace(AccMask, "*", "%")
        Dim tmpCCMask As String = Replace(CCMask, "*", "%")
        'Connection string

'
        sConnect = "Data Source= x.x.x.x;Initial Catalog =xxxxx;Uid=xxxx;Pwd=xxxx;"
        'create strSQL

strSQL = "SELECT SUM(GL06004) "
        strSQL = strSQL & "FROM GL0601" & Format(FrmDte, "yy") & " "
        strSQL = strSQL & "WHERE GL06003>='" & FrmDte & "' AND GL06003<='" & ToDte
        strSQL = strSQL & "' And GL06012 Not In ('/','U','V','W','X','Y','Z','\','a','c','d','e','f','g','h')"
        strSQL = strSQL & "AND GL06001 LIKE '" & String.Concat(tmpAccMask, tmpCCMask) & "'"

' Initialize database connection
        Dim cnScala As New SqlConnection(connectionString:=sConnect)
        Dim cmdScala As New SqlCommand(cmdText:=strSQL, connection:=cnScala)

'Open the connection
        cnScala.Open()

Actual = cmdScala.ExecuteScalar

'Reset the connection
        cmdScala.Dispose()
        cmdScala = Nothing
        cnScala.Dispose()
        cnScala.Close()