MEF

Oct 30, 2011 at 9:21 PM

Hello,

Just wondering, its possible to use MEF with Excel-DNA, to load other assemblies in runtime and add more UDFs ?

Thanks.

Coordinator
Oct 30, 2011 at 9:32 PM

Hi,

There is some support in Excel-DNA for explicitly registering a set of methods at runtime. From a macro in your ExcelDna project you can call ExcelDna.Integration.Integration.RegisterMethods(methodList) with a List<MethodInfo>, which will register the methods through Excel-DNA. 

However, Excel-DNA has no MEF support built in, so you'd have to host MEF in your own add-in. And then somehow use reflection find the methods you want to register.

I have no experience with MEF myself though, so I'd be keen to know what you find if you give it a go. Also if you run into particular changed on the Excel-DNA side that would help in this scenario, let me know.

Regards,

Govert

Oct 30, 2011 at 9:54 PM
Govert,

Thanks for your support.

I will try to build a solution using MEF and Excel-DNA, soon as i have
something working i will send to you.

Thanks!

2011/10/30 govert <notifications@codeplex.com>:
> From: govert
>
> Hi,
>
> There is some support in Excel-DNA for explicitly registering a set of
> methods at runtime. From a macro in your ExcelDna project you can call
> ExcelDna.Integration.Integration.RegisterMethods(methodList) with a
> List<MethodInfo>, which will register the methods through Excel-DNA.
>
> However, Excel-DNA has no MEF support built in, so you'd have to host MEF in
> your own add-in. And then somehow use reflection find the methods you want
> to register.
>
> I have no experience with MEF myself though, so I'd be keen to know what you
> find if you give it a go. Also if you run into particular changed on the
> Excel-DNA side that would help in this scenario, let me know.
>
> Regards,
>
> Govert
>
> Read the full discussion online.
>
> To add a post to this discussion, reply to this email
> ([email removed])
>