Memory Leak?

Aug 25, 2010 at 3:21 AM

Hi - I am new to ExcelDNA, but am finding that it can be incredibly useful after only a few short days experimenting.  I have discovered that when I return a 2d array (type double[,] in f#) to Excel, and then show the result by creating an array function, that each successive recalculation of that array - done by going to any part of the array, hitting F2 then Ctrl + Shift + Enter - will result in what looks like to me, a memory leak.

For example, write the function bigArray() that creates a 10,000 by 100 array populated by the number 1.0

let bigArray() = Array2D.Create 10000 100 1.0

Load Excel, and the .xll file, and call this function - works as it should.  Now, select 10,000 rows, and a number of columns, enter the function =bigArray() and hit Ctrl + Shift + Enter - everything is populated with the number 1, as it should be.  Now open task manager, and look at the memory usage of Excel.  Watch it grow with each successive Ctr +Shift + Enter recalculation.

I understand that this function is useless as-is, but I would like to return large datasets to spreadsheets.  Am I implementing something wrong here - is there a way to make ExcelDNA release this memory before it loads the next recalculation of the array, or is it lost until Excel is reset?

Coordinator
Aug 25, 2010 at 7:41 AM

Hi jm,

This is certainly interesting, but I don't think you are seeing an Excel-Dna memory leak.

I can recreate the behaviour you see, but note that the memory usage does not grow if I recalculate (even a full recalc with Ctrl+Alt+F9). You need to re-enter the formula to get the growth in memory usage. And the memory is released when you close the WorkBook. This all indicates that Excel is holding on to the extra memory, not the marshaling layer in Excel-Dna, which is one place a memory leak could occur.

Excel exhibits the same behaviour with a VBA function - try this in a module in VBA and repeat your test (noting how much slower VBA is):